New York, New Jersey & Connecticut Are Requiring Out-of-Staters to Self-Quarantine for 2 Weeks

June 25, 2020

© Sipa USA


On Wednesday, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that visitors from eight states will be required to quarantine for two weeks after entering the state. The New York Times reports that the quarantine will also apply to New Yorkers who are re-entering the state from elsewhere. “We now have to make sure that the rate continues to drop,” Mr. Cuomo said. “A lot of people come into this region and they could literally bring the infection with them. It wouldn’t be malicious or malevolent, but it would still be real.” New Jersey and Connecticut also set similar restrictions as part of a "joint travel advisory." However, in New York violations will punished with thousand-dollar fines;  the other two states have not set enforcement rules. The advisory comes as coronavirus cases spike in states across the areas of the country. Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah are the states on New York's list.