New Jersey Beach Smoking Ban in Place for Summer

May 24, 2019

jfbenning iStock / Getty Images Plus

A non-smoking and vaping ban has been applied to nearly every public beach in the state of New Jersey, as well as public parks. The Associated Press reports that fines start at $250 for a first offense and go up to $1,000 for a third offense. New Jersey has pushed for a beach smoking ban for years, but it wasn't until last year that it was finally passed and signed into law by Democratic Gov. Phil Murphy. He cited health considerations and a desire to keep beaches and parks cleaner as the reason for his support. As part of the new law, towns that feel pity for smokers can set aside up to 15 percent of the beach as a smoking section.